## 904 Canada Year Book 1978-79

an act of Parliament or for criminal contempt of court. It also has authority for all unescorted temporary absences and for escorted temporary absences of certain inmates in penitentiaries. The board has 26 fulltime members, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who may also appoint temporary members to assist the board. Additionally, regional representatives of police forces, provincial and municipal governments, professional, trade, and community associations may participate in the consideration of releases for certain inmates. The board reports to Parliament through the solicitor general.

National Research Council of Canada (National Research Council Canada). This is an agency of the federal government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors associate committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. The federal government has designated NRC as the co-ordinating body for development of a national scientific and technical information system under the general direction of the national librarian. Other activities include provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in international scientific unions. Patentable inventions developed in the council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited. The council consists of a president, three vice-presidents and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. NRC is incorporated under the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) and reports to Parliament through a designated minister.

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council. This council was established as a Crown corporation under the terms of the Government Organization (Scientific Activities) Act, 1976 (SC 1976-77 c.24) to promote and assist research in the natural sciences and engineering other than the health sciences.

Northern Canada Power Commission. The commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1948 (RSC 1970, c.N-21) to provide power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be supplied on a self-sustaining basis; the act was amended in 1950 to give the commission authority to provide similar services in the Yukon Territory. The name of the commission (formerly the Northwest Territories Power Commission) was changed in 1956. It is composed of a chairman and four members appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Of the additional members, one each is appointed on the recommendation of the commissioners of the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory.

Northern Transportation Company Limited. The company was originally formed in 1934 under the Alberta Company's Act and the charter surrendered in 1947 to be replaced by a new entity under the name of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, incorporated under the laws of Canada. In 1949 it was declared to be a proprietary company to which the Government Companies Act applied and placed under the Financial Administration Act. In 1952 the date was eliminated from the name.

The shares were acquired by Eldorado Nuclear Limited in 1947 and the company remained a wholly owned subsidiary until late 1975 when the equity was transferred to the minister of transport in trust for Her Majesty in right of Canada.

This Crown company conducts the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed, the Western Arctic and Hudson Bay and operates a wholly owned subsidiary trucking company with operations in Alberta and the Northwest Territories. It is responsible to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Office of the Administrator under the Anti-Inflation Act. The office was established on December 15, 1975 by the Anti-Inflation Act (SC 1974-75-76, c.75, amended by SC 1974-75-76, c.98). The administrator enforces the Anti-Inflation Board guidelines with orders that are binding when the guidelines are disputed or contravened. In price and profit matters the administrator may order excess revenues to be returned to the buyers, the market or the Crown. In compensation matters, he may order that excess payments be recovered from the employer, the employee or both. The administrator, appointed by the Governor-in-Council, may appoint one or more deputy administrators. He reports to Parliament through the minister of national revenue.

Office of the Auditor General. This office originated in 1878 and currently functions under the Auditor General Act (SC 1976-77, c.34) which was proclaimed in August 1977. The auditor general is responsible for examining accounts of Canada including those related to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. In his report he calls attention to anything of significance that he considers should be brought to the attention of the Commons including cases in which he has observed that money has been expended without due regard to economy or efficiency, or satisfactory procedures have not been established to measure and report the effectiveness of programs, where such procedures could appropriately and reasonably be implemented. He